Superior Court of California, County of El Dorado

Our Mission

To preserve and enhance the rule of law in El Dorado County by providing all persons a fair, efficient, and accessible forum for resolving disputes, protecting public safety, and righting wrongs.

How Fines (Bail) are Calculated in El Dorado County

Each violation listed on a citation is assessed a base fine. In addition to the base fine, there are additional assessments added to make up the total fine amount due to the court. A cell phone violation, VC 23123, has a base fine of $20. But your actual bail amount will be $167. Click here to see breakdown

An explanation of the base fine and assessments breakdown is shown below. The total fine amount due can also be increased by priors or points on person's driving record. If Traffic school is allowed, there is an additional $69.00 added to the total amount due.

Additionally, fines can be further enhanced pursuant to Vehicle Code 42009 for committing an offense while driving in a highway construction or maintenance area and pursuant to Vehicle Code 40210 for violations committed in a Safety Enhancement-Double Fine Zone. There are special violations with higher fines for violations committed in a school zone, a business district, a senior center zone, or at a railroad crossing. Note: Violation filed as misdemeanors in El Dorado County require an appearance in court. Bail cannot be forfeited in lieu of appearance.

This breakdown is applicable to El Dorado County and may not apply to other counties.

Base Fine: Set by legislation and the Judicial Council of California. On some violations, the base fine is increase if you have had a prior of the same violation. For example: seatbelt, insurance, and cell phone violations.

Penalty Assessment: Penalty assessments are allocated for such items as court and jail facility construction and other items as noted below.

  • $10.00 per $10/base fine per PC 1464 goes 70% to State Trial Court Trust Fund; 30% to County General Fund.
  • $2.50 per $10/base fine per GC 76101 goes to the County Jail Construction Fund.
  • $0.50 per $10/base fine per GC 76102 goes to County Automated Fingerprint Fund.
  • $2.00 per $10/base fine per GC 76104 goes to Maddy Emergency Medical Fund (State/County split).
  • $3.00 per $10/base fine per GC 70372(a) goes to State Court Facilities Construction Fund.
  • $2.00 per $10/base fine per GC 76104.6 goes to the DNA Identification Fund (County/State split).
  • $3.00 per $10/base fine per GC 76104.7 goes to the DNA Identification Fund (County/State split). (First $1 per $10 effective on violations on/after 07/12/06; additional $2 per $10 effective on violations on/after 06/10/10.)
  • $2.00 per $10/base fine per GC 70372(a) goes to the State Court Facilities Construction Fund - Immediate and Critical Needs Account.
  • $2.00 per $10/base fine per GC 76000.5 goes to the Additional Emergency Medical Services Account.

Additional Fees:

  • DMV record fee: pursuant to Vehicle Code 40508.6 - $10.00
  • Criminal Surcharge: pursuant to Penal Code 1465.7 - 20% of base fine
  • Court Operations Fee: pursuant to Penal Code 1465.8 - $40.00.
  • Criminal Conviction Assessment: pursuant to GC 70373 goes to the State Court Facilities Construction Fund – Immediate and Critical Needs Account (assessed per conviction). - $30.00 (Misdemeanor); $35.00 (Infraction)
  • Emergency Air Medical Transportation Act Fee pursuant to Government Code 76000.10 - $4.00.

Clerk's Office Phone Numbers

  • Placerville Main Street Branch
    • Main Line: (530) 621-6426
    • Family Law: (530) 621-6726
    • Juvenile: (530) 621-6710
  • Placerville Building C Branch
    • Traffic - (530) 621-7470
    • Criminal - (530) 621-7464
  • Cameron Park Branch
    • Civil/ Civil Harassment / Probate / Guardianships / Small Claims / Unlawful Detainers: (530) 621-5867
  • South Lake Tahoe Branch
    • Civil / Juvenile / Family Law / Probate: (530) 573-3075
    • Traffic / Small Claims / Criminal: (530) 573-3044

Main Street snow 2 Dec2009